MIN Team

Jeffrey J. Field

MIN Director

Jeffrey J. Field, PhD


(970) 492-4345

Dr. Field earned his PhD in Physics in 2010 under the advisement of Prof. Jeff Squier at the Colorado School of Mines. Dr. Field’s dissertation was concentrated on applying ultrafast laser pulse shaping, beam shaping, and optical engineering to optimize various aspects of multiphoton microscopy for biological imaging. In particular, he focused on shaping laser pulses to mitigate photobleaching in two-photon excited fluorescence, developed several novel platforms for femtosecond laser pulse shaping and characterization, and worked with a team of graduate students to develop multifocal multiphoton microscopy methods.  In 2011, Dr. Field moved to University of California, San Diego and worked under Prof. David Kleinfeld to develop a multiphoton microscope with a 1 cm x 1 cm field of view for imaging both hemispheres of cortex in awake, behaving mice. In 2012, Dr. Field moved to Prof. Randy Bartel’s lab in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Colorado State University, where he has continued to develop novel microscopy platforms, including a super-resolution imaging system, a fluorescent holographic imaging system, and continued optimization of multiphoton laser scanning microscopy systems. Dr. Field joined the MIN in August of 2015.


MIN Advisory Board

A steering committee comprised of the faculty members in charge of each instrument, and additional representatives from other colleges provide supervision for the operation of the Microscope Imaging Network. Current steering committee faculty members:

  • James R. Bamburg, MIN Chair, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Olympus spinning disk and standard epifluorescence microscopes in MRB.
  • Randy A. Bartels, member, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, School of Biomedical Engineering.
  • Susan M. Bailey, member, Department of Environmental and Radiological Health Sciences.
  • Brad Borlee, member, Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Pathology, Olympus confocal microscope at Foothills campus in RIC.
  • Jennifer G. DeLuca, MIN co-Chair, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Nikon TIRF system in MRB.
  • Mercedes Gonzalez-Juarrero, member, Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Pathology, Zeiss LSM510 meta in Microbiology.
  • Shane T. Hentges, member, Department of Biomedical Sciences, Zeiss LSM 510 meta in A/Z.
  • Karyn Hamilton, member, Department of Health and Exercise Science.
  • Matt J. Kipper, member, Department of Chemical Biological Engineering, School of Biomedical Engineering, Nikon spinning disk confocal/AFM in Scott Bioengineering.
  • John E. Rash, member, Department of Biomedical Sciences, JEOL 1400 and JEOL 2000 TEMs in A/Z.
  • Tim Stasevich, member, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

Instrument Supervisors

  • Barbara W. Bernstein, Olympus spinning disk confocal microscope in MRB.
  • Keith G. DeLuca, Nikon TIRF in MRB.
  • Connie King, Zeiss confocal laser-scanning microscope (LSM 510) in A/Z.
  • Kim G. Vanderpool, JEOL electron microscopes (1400 and 2000 TEM) in A/Z.


Comments are closed.